You might think all it takes to start in Charleston property management in SC is to purchase a house, then turn around and rent it to a single-family, but there is a little more to becoming a property manager than being an owner. In fact, in South Carolina, there are laws that govern what someone must do to become a property manager.
Charleston property management in SC companies don’t need real estate broker licenses, but they do need to be licensed as a property manager or broker-in-charge. If you own the property, and also plan to manage it, you may be exempt from this law; however, if you plan to hire a property manager, you will want to ensure they have the proper certifications and
How to Get A License for Charleston Property Management in SC
South Carolina property manager licensing requirements include:
- Age: Applicants must be at least 18 years old to be a property manager, and 21 to be a property manager in charge
- Applicants must be a high school graduate or equivalent
- Education: must complete a real estate commission approved course (30 hours) in property management fundamentals. You can bypass this requirement with a law degree or B.A. with a major in real estate will also qualify although college degrees are not required for becoming licensed.
- Testing: Applicants must pass the property management exam and apply for the property manager or property manager in charge license within 12 months of passing the exam.
Hiring a property manager is always a great choice for investors who want to rent single-family homes. A qualified property manager will be able to get you top market rent value on the property you own, find excellent tenants quickly, and be able to effectively manage the tenants and properties with limited contact from you, the owner.
If you’re interested in hiring a property manager that will take the burden off your shoulders, call Scott Properties at 843-790-4929.